Winter – a silent sleep (2010) by Company B. Valiente in collaboration with Polski Teatr Tańca is a dance performance investigating the magic melancholia of the cold season. The choreographer investigate through her private experience about loss and mourning, the germination of a new life. Sounds and movement existed side by side in a journey through past and the experience of awaiting future. The production aimed to be a poetic examination of winter; of the great silence and what rises from silence. The production was made in a meeting between four performing artists, the Norwegian saxophone player Rolf-Erik Nystrøm, singer/dancer Silje Aker Johnsen and the Polish dancers Małgorzata Mielech and Szymon Halik.

Premiere date 16 Jan. 2010
Produced by Polish Dance Theatre, Company B. Valiente
Coproducers Avant Garden in Trondheim.
Expressions Dance, Music, Multidisciplinary
Duration 50 minutter

Gunhild Bjørnsgaard – Choreographer

Marcelino Martin Valiente – Dramaturge
Anna Klimczak – Video/Film
Małgorzata Mielech – Dancer
Silje Marie Aker Johnsen – Dancer
Rolf-Erik Nystrøm– Saxofonist and Composer

Performance dates

16 May. 2010 – Grand Theatre in Łódź (Grand Theatre in Lodz) – Show
2 May. 2010 –  Grand Theatre in Poznaniu (Grand Theatre in Poznan) – Show
25 Apr. 2010 – Verkstedhallen – Show
24 Apr. 2010 – Verkstedhallen – Show
21 Mar. 2010 – Hall (Central Art Pool) – Show
18 Mar. 2010 – The Main Stage (Municipal Theatre of Witold Gombrowicz in Gdynia)

Winter – a silent sleep took part in the MultiPliè dance festival 2010, in Trondheim. Norway.

Supported by FWK, EEA Grants Norway Grants, Arts Council Norway and the Norwegian Ministry for Foreign Affairs/MFA (travel grant/performing arts).

Source: Spring program 2010, Avant Garden.